Oh, boy, more problems - Rear Differential

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Oh, boy, more problems - Rear Differential

Here I am posting again. This time I'm having differential problems.

I removed the rear differential to replace the gasket, which was leaking. When I got the diff out, I found one of the ring gear bolts had broken, head popped off. Amazingly, no other damage was done. I got lucky.

Has anyone else ever seen this happen? My biggest concern is what may have caused it. Sure, I could replace the failed bolt, but I'm worried it may happen again, and possibly with worse consequences.

Matt,
    My guess would be that someone had previously been at it and over tightened that bolt. The leaking gasket further suggests this. You may wish to replace the rest of the bolts and torque to specification. I am no expert on differentials but have pulled many out over the years and have seen a number of ruined ones but none with that type of failure.
    DavidGB

Comment

I've found the same broken bolts, multiple in the same differential, with others loose. So in my case, I'd say they were not properly torqued, and the locking plates not properly used. I had damage from either them or the carrier pin that were also out.

Good luck,
      Will
      I drive a DODGE, not a ram!

Thanks,
      Will
      WAWII.com

1946 WDX Power Wagon - "Missouri Mule"
      1953 M37 - "Frankenstein"
      1993 Jeep YJ - "Will Power"
      1984 Dodge Ramcharger - "2014 Ramcharger"
      2006 3500 DRW 4WD Mega Cab - "Power Wagon Hauler"

Comment

Usually in an instance of a broken ring gear bolt it is the result of numerous bolts first loosening, then the ring gear getting worked against the loose bolts. There is a first one to break. Continued use then shears more. You are fortunate you found it when you did. Ultimately there is a catastrophic failure.
        Power Wagon Advertiser monthly magazine, editor & publisher.