No announcement yet.

Anyone put 5.9L Cummins in Power Wagon?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anyone put 5.9L Cummins in Power Wagon?

Howdy All,
    I've been a subscriber to PWA magazine for a few years, but this is my first time posting here on the forum, which I'm learning my way around. For some reason I can't find a single posting on putting a 12 valve 5.9L Cummins in a Power Wagon. We would sure appreciate any guidance help we could get in this. As we were pulling the '50 PW down to the frame, I was noting possible modifications we could make in moving everything forward to make room for a 12 valve. Frame horn and hood extensions won't pose a problem, but maybe there are other issues I'm too dumb to realize yet.

I'm about to put another lengthy posting up about our first frame off resto on a PW, now underway with a bunch of ?'s. Gordon suggested I post my letter to him with those ?'s here on the forum because ya'll are a bunch of sharp guys that could help dummie greenhorns like me. We have done other frame off's, but never a PW. In addition to the '50 model now underway, we have a '47 plus we have a couple of W series 300's and a 200 waiting in the wings.

We will look forward to participating in this forum and thank each and every one of you who may be able to give us some guidance. Thanks a bunch!...Jim

Some things to ponder when considering this swap. The Cummins 6bt engine family weighs in around 1000lbs. A stock flathead six runs pretty close to under half of that. The Cummins puts out 500 ft lbs of torque easily, a flathead six is also at least half under that. The stock frame just isnt up to the task of handling that might weight and power. Considerable reinforcement is absolutely necessary to make this conversion drivable for any amount of time. The rest of the drivetrain will need to be upgraded as well, just to handle that power.