Axle tube vents?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Axle tube vents?

My M880 is down for some R&R. New leaves, overload springs, brake lines, fuel sending unit, fuel lines etc while I have the bed off swapping in a flat bed.

So while replacing the rubber brake line to the axle I realize it isn't bolted to the axle. As I'm cleaning off all the mud and grease I realize the bolt isn't in even in there. So I've been running it for 10+ years with out the axle tube vent bolt. Everytime I've had the axle out the fluid has been fine. I think I've even changed it a time or two...

Anyway. As long as I need to deal with this I figure I might as well make it better. How do you all usually extend the vent? I'd like to go up to the bottom of the flat bed for extra insurance.

But, The axle tube is stripped I guess because I can't see any threads. Do I just retap for a barb and then extend a length of tubing up with sufficient curl at the end? Is there a valve you add at the end?

Seems like my '92 W250 has the extended vent but its 4* out there now and its 69* here by the computer so that's where my inquiring mind is at the moment.

Thanks,
    1951 B-3 Delux Cab, Braden Winch, 9.00 Power Kings
    1976 M880, power steering, 7.50x16's, flat bed, lots of rust & dents
    1992 W250 CTD, too many mods to list...
    2005 Jeep KJ CRD

I have the bed off my 1 ton and will get a picture of the setup in a few days. I got a new rear brake hose and lines because there is a slow leak in the steel line and the crimp at the top of the rubber is almost gone which means it may pop if stressed hard. The vent is extended up to the crossmember that the shocks are attached to. The vent hose does have a little plastic end that may be a valve or vent stopper of sorts. It attaches into the "T" fitting on the axle tube.

Comment

Thanks.