Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1978 W150 "Southbounder" - new purchase barn find

Hi folks,

I'm new to the forum, new to Power Wagons and I just picked up a cherry old Power Wagon that's been in a barn for a number of years. I'm looking through threads for similar trucks and learning as much as I can, but figured I'd go ahead and post up with my setup and initial plans.

I'd appreciate any advice as I get started on getting it ready to be a reliable driver; I've never had a truck that sat up for so long and I'm not a professional wrencher, so any/all suggestions are appreciated, whether general or specific to these trucks.

Here's the summary:
    1978 w150 Power Wagon "Southbounder" edition. It's a 318 with a 3-spd auto, NP 203 full-time transfer case, and I'm not sure about the gearing.

It's a GA truck from 1978 with 106k on the odometer and everything is surprisingly clean. The owner cranked it up easily, idled, and drove in all gears with an auxiliary fuel can feeding it since the tank is surely full of gas varnish. All the electricals seem to be working including all lights, but there are a couple of jumper wires in the fuse box that will need to be sorted.

My draft to-do list so far:
    Drop and clean out the tank (it's original plastic!)
    clean fuel lines (blow out with air?), add new fuel filter(s)
    Oil change / radiator flush / check all radiator hoses
    disassemble and clean carb
    ignition upgrade? (rotor, coils, plugs, wires) and check timing
    Lube all grease points (including the hidden front wheel bearing zirk I've learned about)
    check brake lines / change brake fluid / shoes / pads
    change transmission fluid? gear oil?

Also: does anyone know anything about the "Southbounder" edition?

Thanks for any and all suggestions/advice/encouragement/help!
    Cheers,
    Jake

So you know - I cross-posted to a couple other dodge truck forums - I'm still trying to figure out which forum community is best for me.