Waited 30 years to get my PW

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Waited 30 years to get my PW

I have wanted a flat fender Power Wagon since 1973. I graduated from college in 1973 and had little money to spend. A friend of my dad had a nursery and landscape business and decided to sell a 1955 Power Wagon that he had bought new. I thought it was really neat. I remember it having dual wheels, and a steel flatbed that dumped. It had very low miles and looked nearly new. He offered it to me for $1,000.00. Well, having just graduated , I had little money to spend on anything, so I had to pass it up.
    I have wanted a Power Wagon ever since, but, marriage and kids prevented me from seriously considering such a frivilous expenditure.
    About two years ago, I stumbled on to Joe's forum while surfing the net. I was hooked. THe kids were gone and the wife thought they looked neat. I read and watched the photo classifieds and decided that a flat fender might be beyond my mechanical capabilities as a first project. I thought a Power Giant would be a lot "easier" to restore and get parts for. Boy was I mistaken. Anyway, in Aug.,2002, I bought a 58 Power Giant, and less than a month later bought a second one for a parts supply. Work started immediately, but I still wanted to eventually get a flat fender truck.