Socket storage

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Socket storage

How are you storing your sockets? My system is rooted in a history that was lacking in metric. I now have metric sockets in 3/8 and 1/2 drive, but standard and deep. The top of my upper cabinet can't hold all that, so I am considering some other approach.

When I was an automotive instructor, most of our hand tools were on panels you would walk up to and retrieve items. I find myself thinking about that, somewhat to my surprise. I see security issues in it, but I also see convenience.

Talk to me....
    Power Wagon Advertiser monthly magazine, editor & publisher.

Why is it that the inside of old truck cabs smell so good?

Related.... it is handy to have a cart, or barrel, or some sort of stand to place tools on next to the vehicle.

What are you using for that?

Comment

One version of socket holding hardware. The stuff I have now came from Snap-on in the 70's.

www.ernstmfg.com

Comment

I prefer that style of socket storage, though the ones I have use a spring-loaded ball. That way I can just grab the whole stick of sockets and take them to the work site.

I have similar for wrenches and screwdrivers. When not in use the all stay in a large toolbox. Keeps them organized and protected both from theft and problems.

I do have a little rolling cart, a simple two shelf thing that I try to keep the tools I'm using on. Biggest problem with them is that right now there's truck parts all over the garage so I can barely roll it around, and the fact that any flat surface will collect junk, and the cart is no different.

Comment

Originally posted by Gordon Maney View Post
          One version of socket holding hardware. The stuff I have now came from Snap-on in the 70's.

www.ernstmfg.com
          I have a similar one for some of my 1/2" drives. I also have a complete Craftsman set (1/4,3/8,1/2 drive, both SAE & Metric) that is enclosed in plastic carrying case.