my new 63 town wagon

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• my new 63 town wagon

After wanting a power wagon town wagon for many years I was finally able to pick up my first one. I have a lot of work to do to get it all fixed up but my first priority will be getting it drivable again. My biggest problem is when I am driving down the road and get to about 40MPH there is a horrible vibration from the front end. I have never worked on a closed knuckle axle before, but when I take the top and bottom of the tire there is about an inch of movement each way, towards and away from the truck. is this going to be a problem in the brass cone and small bearing inside the knuckle? thanks in advance for any information!

Brandon

Congratulatons ! I'm new here also. I'll be following your thread . I picked mine up with a broken knuckle so may be able to help when I get it apart

Comment

Thanks! Ill be following your also can't wait to see pictures. I just got in from pulling the drivers side of the front axle apart. The small bearing on the bottom was toast, it had more dirt packed into it then grease, bent cage and flat spots on the bering. My big worry now is the axle housing itself. The cup that holds the bering has some big gouges in it. What is everyone thoughts, should I keep trying to find the parts and continue with this axle or am I looking at swapping it out?

Comment

I was just thinking would there be a bearing cup on this? I didn't get a chance to look because the wind picked up and I didn't want any more dirt in there!

Comment