Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

4bt, 80% daily driver, 10% tow rig FFPW???

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 4bt, 80% daily driver, 10% tow rig FFPW???

First off I'd like to say hello to everyone let you know how helpful and informative this form has been so far. I am a newbie to PW's, but seriously interested in purchasing one.

I've spent countless hours over the past month combing this and other forms learning about PW's trying to find out what needs to be done to make it a daily driver in today's world. The following is what I believe to be true from what I have discovered so far and my intentions for the FFPW.

I'll try to keep this short, 80% of the PW's life will be spent daily driven used to go to work (16 mls rnd trip) and trips to Home Depot basic truck stuff. The other 20% of it's duties will be towing a 21.5' ski boat (5000 lbs w/ trailer, fuel, toys) to the marina and back (bout 15 min. away) and trips to one of the lakes with in an hour away. The lakes are located in the foothills and will involve some pretty good grades. Another duty will be occasional (once or twice a mnth) one hour freeway trips (one way 70-75mph) to see and help my dad.

So now that you know how it will be used I would like to quickly discuss my finding on how to make a PW do all this.
    • First I like the idea of a 4bt (I am around and drive large diesel trucks at work).
    • 5 spd OD trans. (either NV 4500 or ZF-42)
    • NP 205 or 241 centered (drive line) t-case.
    • Centered axle from WC.
    • 4.89 gearing
    • 4 wheel disc brakes w/ hydroboost, hanging pedals.
    • Power steering.

I plan on keeping it stock looking inside and out, but with modern drive train and brakes (Restomod). Basically taking after Paul from NY's "Bumblebee" project.