1948 B-1-PW 4bt swap

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1948 B-1-PW 4bt swap

I'm beginning to research my options on the restoration of my grandpa's 1948 B-1-PW.

I have restored 7 antique tractors but this will be my first automobile.

I would love to have a road worthy, diesel powered, machine with upgraded suspension, brakes, and axles but I have decided that I just don't have the budget for that right now.

What I would like to consider is leaving everything stock except swapping the 230 flat head with a 4bt cummins - if that is even possible. I would sacrifice the road speed but would still have the power, reliability, fuel efficiency, and pure awesomeness of the 4bt.

I see a lot of people doing this swap in similar dodge trucks but I have yet to find out whether or not it will work in my specific truck? I have no problem doing fab work as that is what I do for a living.

What I'm looking for is exactly what motor would I need and exactly what adapter plate, etc I would need to mate it to the PW's transmission and transfer case.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

I think you are going to find that no one will recommend you stay with the original transmission, partly because of that transmission and also partly because of the bellhousing requirement. More will be along later to comment.
    Power Wagon Advertiser monthly magazine, editor & publisher.

Why is it that the inside of old truck cabs smell so good?

Comment

A search here will turn up some options, but I'm not sure it's even possible to use the stock tranny without some crazy custom adapter.